What I learned from blogging about Farmers!

kracaw bakewell Dough_fb Jeff Small Picture

I must admit when I picked the “all about agriculture” blog topic, it was purely for selfish reasons. Don’t get me wrong I love agriculture. It has always been my passion for as long as I can remember. I have always wanted to somehow learn from the many great farmers and ranchers of the world, and help them share their stories. This blog has presented a great opportunity to both learn from these great people, and to share their stories. I hope I can become more like them. I hope to find courage to fulfill my hopes and dreams, just like they have. There was an underlying theme of hope, and working through problems in each one of the interviews I completed. It reminds me of what my mom always said “Anything worth accomplishing is going to be hard”. I believe that now more than ever. I wanted to reiterate a few things that made me think from blogging about these farmers.

Don Kracaw and tending to business, watching every penny coming and going, Don is not just talking I worked for Don he lived this principle every day, and he is really good at it. We should always be looking for ways to diversify; even the “big boys”. We should not try and do everything all by ourselves, one person cannot do it all, and it is ok to ask for help. Doug’s post jumped out at me because I knew how much time and effort he put into his guest post. I could hear my grandfather saying “If you are going to do something, do it right the first time”. I know Doug well since he is my brother and he has always followed this principle. Jeff Yeck’s blog post is just like Jeff, he never gives up, and he always chases his dreams and accomplishes them. I have always wanted to be like Jeff ever since we were kids. He always had it “all” together. Jim Thompson made me rethink the importance of priorities, and if mine are in the right place, the importance of a family, and being patient, to never underestimate the value of an education. Roy and Jeannie taught me that when you do something you love you never work a day in your life. These two will never retire; they are having way too much fun.

These values just do not apply to farmers and ranchers but to everyone. I do not own one acre, or one cow but I have been able to apply these principles into my own life. We all have hopes and dreams, and in order to accomplish those dreams we cannot lose hope. If I have learned nothing else from these farmer interviews it is to never lose hope, work hard, and pray always.

WORK HARD, BE PATIENT, NEVER QUIT, ALWAYS BE HONEST, and HAVE FUN!

BishopT dairy-cows IMG_1625

2 thoughts on “What I learned from blogging about Farmers!

  1. Don Kracaw

    Very well done Howard. One very important message: the employees who work for a company are the reason for success as it was in our company.
    Don Kracaw

    Reply

Leave a comment