John Deere 520 Tractor

cropped-4-1956-john-deere-520.jpg
My name is Howard Hales I am a current student in the Executive MBA program at the University of Nevada-Reno (UNR). We have been tasked to maintain a blog as a part of one of the last classes before we graduate. I have chosen to blog about one of my favorite subjects…Agriculture. I will deviate from this topic on occasion but for the most part, it will be “All about Agriculture”.

In order to begin, I need to briefly introduce myself. I was raised in a great family from Idaho, I currently have a great family, and I am employed with Public Utility in Northern Nevada as a Business Analyst, a student at UNR enrolled in UNR’s first “Online” Executive MBA program. I am actively working with the youth in my church, sometimes this drives me crazy, since I am not naturally good with teenagers, but I believe it is important to help others especially the youth. My goal is to help them to believe in themselves, and to help them not make the same mistakes that I did as a youth.

It may appear that I am a long way from being involved in agriculture, however, I play a small part in helping to manage a farm currently owned by my employer in Northern Nevada. We are currently raising alfalfa and using grain hay as a rotation crop. Luckily, through this farm I have been able to continue to learn and grow with the ag industry even though I no longer own any cows.

Through this blog our class has been tasked with the promoting our brand or our values through a blog and other social media outlets. This has been very difficult for me, and I have done somethings I never thought I would do. One of which was to create a “Facebook” page, a “Google +” account and even write a blog. There was an assignment two weeks ago to identify our value. As I have thought about this over the past two weeks, I came across a picture of a John Deere 520 tractor. My grandfather had this same tractor and my father used it on his farm/dairy for many years. I had the opportunity to operate this tractor often while I was growing up. I remember we used this tractor to do many different things from cultivating corn, loading feed into the feed truck and even scraping corrals at the dairy. I can not remember a day when this little old tractor did not start right up and go to work. My value is to be like this old tractor, hard-working, reliable and most of all very useful. I hope this blog will provide useful information on farm management.

The next blog post will answer the following questions: When is the best time to cut hay? Should it be for the dairy, feeder or export market?

Stay tuned for next weeks blog post for all the details

hjh

Leave a Reply

